Gary Fisher Marlin

Follow  
AVERAGE RATING
4.50 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY   beta
MSRP: $550
Loading...
I Want One  
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
15 bikes
 
on Sep 30, 2014
on Jul 18, 2014
on May 2, 2014
on Apr 28, 2014
on Apr 3, 2014
 
Product Options (1)
Gary Fisher Marlin Disc
+ Add review
 
Scottstarkes on March 25, 2014
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Gary Fisher Marlin Disc

Model/Year: 2013

Pros: Great size love the 29er had a 26 before this bike can roll over just about everything super light feel for the size

Cons: Little hard to size just right I went down from a 19 inch this bike is a 17 so the bars feel a little close to my knees

Recommendation: I would strongly recommend this bike to anyone that wants to move up to big wheeled bike

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
bigflipwild on July 2, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: Gary Fisher Marlin

Pros: Very Easy to Ride on rough trails and the road in many conditions.

The tough frame can take a serious beating and is able to withstand massive pressure.

It's a fun bike to take to it's limits.

Cons: I eventually had to get the Derailers replaced because I managed to bend them to the point of not being able to change gears.

For whatever reason, I bought the bike with disc brakes in the front and linear brakes in the back. The linear brakes need to be changed every 2 months or so, which is annoying but very cheap, but the disc brake pads have only been replaced once since i've bought the bike.

The Original pedals were complete shit so I got some Primo aftermarket metal pedals. Completely worthit.

Recommendation: My first Mountain Bike, extremely reliable and the paintjob adds a bit of character to the bike. If you're looking for a beginner dirt jumper for a smaller amount of money, this is my #1 choice.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
phil325 on February 17, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: looks and rides great, fork suspension is soft. 29er so it travels well on rough terrain

Cons: brakes are LOUD and i've been riding a handful of times on trail. pedals feel like it should be replaced to something better because i keep slipping off on drops or high roots. tried my friend's aftermarket pedals that were wider and plastic....seemed better at foot planting.

Recommendation: other than my brakes being extremely loud (no exaggeration), the bike is great for beginner-intermediate people who do trails for recreation. handles and keeps up with thousand-dollar bikes

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
UltimateTherapy on February 16, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2011 Gary Fisher Marlin

Pros: Great Bike. Light and sturdy. Great base frame to upgrade

Cons: none.

Recommendation: I upgraded the derailer and went to hydrolic brakes. First new bike in 16 years! Glad I went 29er hardtail.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
bassonsteroids on April 30, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2011 GF Marlin 29er

Pros: the frame is very sturdy and I feel it can take the abuse no problem. The fork seems very strong as well. The paint job does it justice too

Cons: It isn't the best at climbing hills b/c of it's average crank and derailler and the breaks fail in wet conditions. But I shouldn't complain for such a good price!

Recommendation: For a beginner (which I am), I'd recommend it because of it's overall good performance

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on July 14, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Gary Fisher Marlin Disc

Pros: I love the components on this bike. great handling with the g2 geometry. climbs hils great.

Cons: I dont like the pedals, because there small for a platform pedals.

Recommendation: Overall a great bike. i would change the pedals though. i think every rider would like this bike.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
ryn20 on October 11, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Gary Fisher Marlin Disc

Pros: Geometry is great for taller riders. Great handling. Decent components for the pricepoint. Great looks.

Cons: Could be a little lighter in weight. Didn't so much care for the silver bars and stem.

Recommendation: I have had this bike for a couple of months now and absolutely love it. I am an experienced road bike rider but relatively new to mountain biking, so I didn't want to spend a ton of money just in case I didn't enjoy it. I got a great deal from my LBS and now my road bike is collecting dust. The G2 geometry provides for great handling for a hardtail and fits a taller rider well. All I have done to this bike is get rid of the silver bars and stem and replaced them with slightly upgraded oversized black parts. I would definately recommend the Gary Fisher Marlin Disc to beginners, medium level riders and those who want a real good bike without spending a ton of cash.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
dougmcq on April 12, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: I have owned a Marlin for 5 years, and it has really been a flawless ride. I bought it as a good "entry level" bike, but the quality components, strong frame, comfortable but agile geometry, and relatively light weight have really made it a bike to stick with. My wife quickly became hooked to her new Marlin last year, too, for the same reasons.

Cons: None. For the money, this bike rides like something a lot more expensive.

Recommendation: This is an outstanding bike for first-time and recreational riders looking for an "all around" hardtail that can handle singletrack with agility, holds up well on downhill runs, churns through sand and mud and climbs well. Get out and ride one!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
chadkmiller on April 12, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Good fit Decent Components Nice Adjustable Shock

Cons: None

Recommendation: I have just rode this bike a little bit. I had a Trek 4500, and this bike feels so much better. I know they are basically the same, but the frame makes the ride feel so much more different and smooth. The variable shock has a lot more range and is quite effective for switching from street to singletrack, if absolutely necessary.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
danno346 on April 10, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Geometric shape, Strong frame, components can be upgraded easily

Cons: none so far

Recommendation: I just got this bike a couple of months ago and I haven't had any kinds of problems with it. I went from riding a Giant Cypress Hybrid to this because I'm getting more and more into trail riding and the hybrid wasn't going to hold out much longer I think. This bike is a good deal, especially if you can get the bike shop to cut you a deal. It has mide range components that can be upgraded easily if you want. Also the frame is shaped a little differently which is a huge plus for shorter people because the cross bar sits lower than on a regular bike. I would definitely reccommend this bike to beginners or for people that can ride but just aren't out there everyday and can't afford to go to the top level bike.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
 
Gary Fisher Marlin 4.50 out of 5 based on 10 ratings. 10 user reviews.