XC Race Bike

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author

I started riding again after 20+ years raising kids and working. I picked up a Hard Rock last year and basically wore it out 2 times already. Now I wanna give XC racing a go, cause I’m into punishment. My LBS sells Specialized and Kona. I want a Hardtail (just don’t want to deal with what comes with rear susp.) and a race worthy Bike that’s gonna last a couple seasons. I am gonna buy new and at my LBS. 3k is the way top of my budget. Any Suggestions?? Oh yeah, I don’t hit jumps/drops or anything too crazy the USMC and MotoX has taken it’s toll over the years. I’m asking because I don’t want make the mistake of buying another Hard Rock type of bike and researching every bike/spec has overwhelmed me to the point of being institutionalized.

Both Kona and Specialized are great companies so it’s hard to imagine that you can go wrong buying the highest end hardtail XC bike within your budget.    That said, I drool over the Honzo Carbon race, although it seems pretty slack for a pure XC bike.

Get a Specialized Epic hard tail. Great XC race bike.

I would steer you towards the Kona Honzo CR Race, although it is $3500. The reason being it’s a much more versatile bike than the Epic. If all you want to do is race and ride XC, the Epic is perfect for that. The Epic is a classic XC race hardtail through and through. But for trail riding, the Honzo has more travel up front (120mm vs. 100mm) and better geometry. I’m guessing weights between the Epic Comp Carbon ($2600) and the Kona would be similar, so why not have a bike that’s going to be more fun in more places? The slacker headtube angle (68 deg on the Kona vs. 70 on the Spec) and additional travel are going to make you more confident in technical parts of the track, which will probably make you faster overall.