Winter MTB Training

Tagged: 

Viewing 26 reply threads
  • Author

Ok so Im a beginner as of this summer and since we are in November now there isnt much light to ride after work.
      Im not a huge fan of the gym but what do ya all do for cross training to get ya through the winter?
      I would love to buy a light but I cant afford one thats worth it.

hi cat, welcome to the forums! have you considered an indoor trainer? most are cheaper than hid/led lights and are compatible with mountain bikes (i recommend slick tire though). ive used a couple of the travel trac trainers from performance, they are definitely a great value.

otherwise, running is always good for keeping up your aerobic capacity. to avoid running in the dark, you can squeeze in a quick run on your lunch break if you have showers at work.

throw in some sprints and hill intervals to mimic what you’d expect with cross country riding. and if its too cold to go outside some days ill jump rope (2 minutes without stopping, as many reps as you can) and then do a ton of squats and lunges to keep my legs in shape for climbing hills – hold a 5-10 lb dumbell in each hand and you’ll definitely feel sore for a day or more, but come spring you’ll be proud to wear spandex shorts ;)

hope that helps!
      mudhunny

Try taking a "Spinning" class at your gym. It is like an aerobic class on a stationary bike. When I lived up in New Hampshire cross country skiing and snoeshoeing kept me in shape.

"brianW" wrote

Try taking a "Spinning" class at your gym. It is like an aerobic class on a stationary bike. When I lived up in New Hampshire cross country skiing and snoeshoeing kept me in shape.

When asked how to become a great rider, the legendary Eddy Mercx answered "Ride Lots"! The best answer is become a snowbird and winter in warmer climates where you can ride through the winter.

What? The company won’t let you take a paid all winter vacation? 😢