What’s wrong? uphill advice please…

Viewing 40 reply threads
  • Author

Ok, so I am new to this whole MTN bike thing, but I definately got the fever. I really enjoy the ride until I get to a big@$$ uphill that I cant seem to climb.

I keep telling myself "I sure will be able to enjoy these rides much more when I am in shape and able to blow right up the hill." To compound the issues I just started riding with clipless, and I will find myself comming around a hairpin turn and suddenly confronted with an uphill climb, and not being in the right gear to tackle the hill, I find myself stalling out and panicing as I cant unclip and then I bail. 😈

Sooo, I dont know if I just am not up to the climb yet or if I am technically not proficient yet, or a combination of both.

I just purchached a C’dale F600, 😛 so the bike is not the problem. Actually it is much easier to ride than my old junker, handles like a Lexus and I feel like I can definately get more power out of the clipless. Maybe I was just thinking that once I got the new bike and clipless that my problems would be solved.

I guess the weakest link is me. 💡

Ready for any advice…

I know ride more, right? :?:

thanks in advance

I hope you get some good answers. I’m looking for them also.

I can say is that after 280 MTB miles and 250 road miles, I’m the second to last one up the hills in our group, not the last one like at the beginning of the year 😀 But, I can go longer, recover faster and just plain do more. I do ride with a couple of guys that are insanely fit (one rides 100+ road miles a week 😮).

I keep thinking if I only had a smaller gear…

Personally, I’m thinking the weight room holds part of the answer for me. It’s snowing right now, so less time riding.

Skiing won’t hurt – need strong legs for that.

It never seems fast enough for me. A buddy and I were just talking about that last weekend on a ride. When I was new I would have given anything to ride the whole ride in middle ring.