Upgrading components

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

Has anyone done this?

I have been riding my Giant Talon for about six months, and I want to swap out my triple-chainring stock Shimano group for a SRAM 1×10 group. I’m thinking it will cut out the chain slap (and some weight), plus I literally NEVER use the outer chainrings on trail rides.

I’m also planning to get a better fork (the stock Suntour only does 110mm, I was thinking about a 140mm-ish Fox or Rockshok) and a DROPPER POST so that I can finally get my backside over the rear wheel.

Any thoughts?

The act of going from a 3x to a 1x setup is not what will help with the chain slap. Upgrading to any derailleur with a clutch is. The 1x chainring is almost always smaller than the middle ring of a 3x(where most people spend the majority of their time), so that in itself can make the chainslap worse. The solution is just making sure you’re in a big/big gear combo when on the bouncy stuff so it will pull the chain sufficiently tight. Instead of small ring up front and 5 gears in on the rear, choose the middle ring up front and towards the granny on the rear. It will give you the same leg RPM but is a much better combo for reducing chain slap. If you never use the large ring, take it off and remove enough links in your chain to cover second ring/granny and you’ll improve your situation a bunch. Not to talk you out of going 1x but if that’s the primary reason you’re doing it, I’d save my money.