Upgrades on 2002-ish Trek 4300 Alpha?

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

Hi Everyone..

I bought a Trek 4300 Alpha back in 2002-ish from a local dealer to use for my commute to college. I graduated, had kids and the bike has had only rare use until last fall when I started riding around the neighborhood and dirt roads for fun. I’m now ready to try some single-track stuff (maybe beginner downhill tracks at Sunrise, too) this summer, but would really like to do a few upgrades…especially the fork.

My level is definitely begginer, and I’m wondering if a lock-out fork would be a good idea in order to have something solid for hill-climbing but not be beat to death on downhills or washboard-y roads. Or am I getting ahead of myself? What do any of you suggest in the fork department?

What would you all suggest for components for someone more interested in strength and reliability vs. the lightest thing on the market? Well, without having a fifty pound bike that is. 😉 Thanks everyone!

"darlyj" wrote

Hi Everyone..

I bought a Trek 4300 Alpha back in 2002-ish from a local dealer to use for my commute to college. I graduated, had kids and the bike has had only rare use until last fall when I started riding around the neighborhood and dirt roads for fun. I’m now ready to try some single-track stuff (maybe beginner downhill tracks at Sunrise, too) this summer, but would really like to do a few upgrades…especially the fork.

My level is definitely begginer, and I’m wondering if a lock-out fork would be a good idea in order to have something solid for hill-climbing but not be beat to death on downhills or washboard-y roads. Or am I getting ahead of myself? What do any of you suggest in the fork department?

What would you all suggest for components for someone more interested in strength and reliability vs. the lightest thing on the market? Well, without having a fifty pound bike that is. 😉 Thanks everyone!