Upgrade to disc brakes?

Tagged: , ,

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

So I am new to the sport and currently ride a Trek 4300, I got the bike free and in decent. So anyways I am putting a Rock Shox dart 3 on the front, and replaced the grips and such, so my total money invested in this bike is only $150. So now I have been riding all summer and am getting OK at this whole thing…. I go riding about twice a week. So my question now is should I get disc brakes? The current lever brakes work just fine, just don’t perform great on these dusty trails. So would disc brakes be worth the investment on this bike considering the other stock parts on the bike are rather marginal?

You would first have to make sure that your bike has disc compatible hubs and fork and seat stay because without that, it wont be possible at all. I would ride your bike till you are either out riding your bike or dont think your bike is safe anymore and then upgrade the whole bike.

"TMCCORMICK" wrote

So I am new to the sport and currently ride a Trek 4300, I got the bike free and in decent. So anyways I am putting a Rock Shox dart 3 on the front, and replaced the grips and such, so my total money invested in this bike is only $150. So now I have been riding all summer and am getting OK at this whole thing…. I go riding about twice a week. So my question now is should I get disc brakes? The current lever brakes work just fine, just don’t perform great on these dusty trails. So would disc brakes be worth the investment on this bike considering the other stock parts on the bike are rather marginal?