Upgrade bike or upgrade components?

Forums Mountain Bike Forum Upgrade bike or upgrade components?

Tagged: , , ,

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

Hello, I’m looking for some advice on whether to upgrade my 2009 Cannondale F9 to a nicer bike or to just put some money into components for it. I just started Mountain biking often in January so I’m fairly new, but I ride very often and pretty hard nowadays and it’s doing a number on my components.
      One problem is that my front gears got bent from when I was learning how to get over logs the correct way (though now I know how, so it served it’s purpose as a learning bike), but I think any bikes gears would have probably bent from that so I don’t blame my bike for that. However, my front and rear wheel get out of true often and I think that’s from the rough riding (had to get them fixed 3 times since I started riding a lot); my brakes have some problems and aren’t disk brakes; and my bike doesn’t shift smoothly, nor did it before I bent it, and I think it’s starting to strip my cogs. My frame seems nice-enough, though it’s heavier than I like, but seems strong.
      My budget is $500-700 and there’s a big mountain biking scene here in Richmond, VA so finding a decent used bike shouldn’t be a big problem (from either craigslist or a LBS). Lastly, I’m going to start racing XC competitively soon.
      What do you think?
      Thanks,
      EFR

"EFR450" wrote

One problem is that my front gears got bent from when I was learning how to get over logs the correct way

Consider replacing the big chainring with a bashguard

Having said that though, you should be able to pick up a decent used full susupension rig in your pricerange.

Try this site:
      http://crazedlist.org/#

It lets you search Craigslist for multiple cities at one time.

Good luck!