TREK Marlin for XC Racing

Tagged: , ,

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author

I am currently strapped for cash and was wondering if the 13Trek Marlin could be used to race. I want a 29er and found that the Marlin is in my current price range. I understand that I can upgrade components later on. I am planning in racing about 15 races a year in the 10-15mile range

I would look into the Airborne Guardian in that price range if you’re going to be doing any kind of competitive racing. Not that Trek makes a bad bike; I have a ’13 Mamba and absolutely love it. But for the money, you’re getting a much more competitive component level out the gate with the guardian than with the marlin. Plus the marlin is said to have hub issues in wet/muddy conditions. Just my .02 😀

was wondering if the 13Trek Marlin could be used to race.

What do you mean by "could be used to race"? I think any bike can be used in a race. Is it going to be the fastest bike you could race on? No. You can always spend more money… if you want a competitive cross country race bike, look to start your spending at about $4,000-$5,000 or so, and then work UP from there.

But of course, you don’t need to spend that much on a bike to enter a race. Make sure whatever bike you do own is in good operating condition, and then go for it!

"craigasaurus" wrote

I would look into the Airborne Guardian in that price range if you’re going to be doing any kind of competitive racing. Not that Trek makes a bad bike; I have a ’13 Mamba and absolutely love it. But for the money, you’re getting a much more competitive component level out the gate with the guardian than with the marlin. Plus the marlin is said to have hub issues in wet/muddy conditions. Just my .02 😀