Trek FuelEX 8

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

Just went and looked at one at the local bike shop. I was highly impressed. I think the ABP system sounds like a great design. Price tag of $2200. Does anyone have any experience with these bikes? I know they were just recently released but I figured it may be worthwhile to ask.

[url:2jc9kvnr]http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en/bikes/2008/mountain_full_suspension/fuel_ex/fuelex8/[/url:2jc9kvnr]

yes! go for it. i have the same bike and i am a bike mechanic. i love the bike. it has the handling to take it to the XC and enough travel to take it urban riding. the abp works! on the stairs you can lock up the rear wheel and still feel the squesh. the stock grips i didnt like so i put on odi rouge lock ons, i put on a wtb rocket v saddle. the onll thing is that the bolts for the pivots are aluminum so if your not carefull you can strip the heads. but this is an awesome all around bike. so far the best bike ive owned thus far.

I’m thinking about it real hard. It would be the first full-suspension rig I’ve owned. Actually, I’ve never even ridden an FS rig. I would like to ride the FuelEX8 at a demo-day before dropping that kind of $$$ on a bike.

cjm

If you are riding the same buff single track trails that I was riding near the border or Va and West Va you might take a look at the Remedy. The more slack head-tube angle will be much more forgiving on the steeps. The longer wheel base will help you get up and over the larger rocks. The higher bottom bracket will help with obstacles, too.