Tough Choice

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author

I am going to buy a new Bike 😄 and have already decided to go with an Airborne (more bike for the buck). I am OK with the setup and light mechanics so no shop isn’t a big deal. I would like some opinions on the Hobgoblin vs the Goblin. Both 29ers with similar specs. I live in New England so rocks and roots are a staple of riding but tend to ride cross country with no big drops but plenty of climbs and roots and rocks. I realize the 29ers will give me a smoother ride but this is an interesting dilemma that I would like opinions on.
      Thanks for any input.

I just bought new 29er on way I got hard tail based on friends opionions. They claim their hard tails are as good as there 26 full suspension on cross country rides. I currently ride a 26 hard tail so can’t get any worse. I have no experience on a 29 full suspension. I do own a airborne it is a nice bike and they were great to buy from.

Yes, they are both 29ers with similar components, but there the similarities end. The Hobgoblin is a full-suspension bike, whereas the Goblin is a hardtail (with just front suspension), making them both radically different.

Basically, if you can afford either, you need to decide if you want a hardtail or a FS. Obviously, the FS bike will be plusher and more forgiving, but a bit heavier and you might sacrifice a little bit of energy in pedal bob (but not much if your suspension is set up properly).

I have road 26" FS for years, I recently switched to a ridged carbon 29er. I’ve bought the bike last January . It did take some getting used to as far as riding with a little more body flex and , out of the seat more. Now I really enjoy the bike. Do I wish I went with a FS 29er not sure , I don’t think I could get a FS as lite as the ridged at 24 lbs. and it’s an xl . Good luck with your decision. I think most people that really try a 29er will like them .