total noob tire question

Tagged: ,

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author

I hear all the time about people running different tires on front and rear in all sorts of combinations. I’m having trouble understanding why though. Is there a certain reason I’m not seeing? Is it something that would benefit me or is it dependant on where I ride and how I ride that determines my tire choice? Any help with tire information in general would be appreciated because I’m in total darkness.

Hi there Matt,

As riders begin to push the limits of the tires, they begin to try to wring the most out of their setup. For instance, they may put a big grippy tire on the front for control in corners while running a low rolling resistance and smaller tire on the rear to try to recoup some speed.

At my level of riding, I’m A-OK with the same tire on both ends of my bike. As long as they hold air, it seems I’m able to ride to ride at my highest level 😀

I don’t usually mix and match tire types front and rear, but some tires, like the WTB Velociraptor, come with a different front and rear tread.

Like what Schwim said, usually the idea is a tire for steering through corners in the front, and one for traction while accelerating in the back.

So could I safely say its a personal preference/trial-and-error thing? I read the blog post in the beginners section but needed a little clarification.

Yes, personal preference, based on the average trail conditions where you live.

Well its Georgia so I deal with that awesome red clay. I’m guessing something that can grip good but also not hold mud. I think I might get it.

Yeah personal preference, trial and error… But there are some tires that really do work better in some conditions than in others. Also sometimes your bike frame can be a limiting factor. Sometimes you can only fit a tire that is just so wide between the seat stays but you can fit a significantly wider tire up front in the fork.