Too much riding?

Forums Mountain Bike Forum Too much riding?

Tagged: 

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author

I’m new to the forum and new to MTB’ing. I’m 33 6’1 and 290lbs. As a kid I rode BMX everyday. Did some trail riding in my early 20’s. I have started riding my cheap Walmart bike my girl got me a couple years back. I’m enjoying it!!! Found some ATV trails near my house. I started riding 2-3 days a week, and then moved up to 5 days out of the 7 in the week. My question is can you over do it in the beginning? I’m riding 2.5-5 miles each time.

I feel I went at it very hard today and at the end of the ride I was really feeling it. I’m also already to go again tomorrow, but should I?

Thanks for any advice.

Well, thats usually a personal thing. If you’re feeling burnt out then take a day off. As far as the distance goes, I’m a lot younger than you so I’m not too sure if that changes things, but ususally 5 miles isn’t pushing it too much for me. It will just take some time to get those legs back in shape, keep at it! 😃

Just listen to your body. He need to get used to biking and will be more durable the longer you practice

If you have to ask, you’re not wore out enough to skip a ride. You’ll KNOW when it’s too much.

Thanks for the feedback. I think I’m thinking too much into it. I’m ready to go on a ride today.

What I like to do is after a really hard day of riding, a day or so later I’ll go on a cruise around the neighborhood with the kids. It loosens up the sore muscles, without any expectation of having to hammer it over anything difficult.

"maddslacker" wrote

What I like to do is after a really hard day of riding, a day or so later I’ll go on a cruise around the neighborhood with the kids. It loosens up the sore muscles, without any expectation of having to hammer it over anything difficult.