Tips for getting into the bike industry?

Forums Mountain Bike Forum Tips for getting into the bike industry?

--
SHARES

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author

Alright. So I have a decent well paying drafting/designing job at a fabrication shop that I need to keep in order to maintain my home (debt). But seriously, I hate my job. It’s awful, the office politics suck, I feel woefully under-appreciated, and I don’t have much in the way of outs right now since it’s mandatory to keep my current income.

I long for the bike industry. I live in Northern Utah and the bike culture sucked me in so much that I seriously can’t get enough of it. It’s where my heart wants to be, and while it’s a long shot, I wonder how I could find myself in the bike industry? I have drafting/design skills, but probably not the kind that bike engineers demand. Other than that I have some experience with project management. I need to consider my wife as well, so I can’t just sell everything we own and live in a van by the river while selling bikes.

Is there any way to get into it without going homeless, divorced, or just working at a bike shop making minimum wage?

What kind of design skills do you have? Like graphic design? Industrial design? Bike companies need those positions.

There is some bike industry in and around Northern Utah: ENVE, QBP, etc., but many/most companies are HQ’d somewhere in California. The front range of Colorado is another hotbed basically from Fort Collins to Colorado Springs. If you really want it, you may have to relocate.

I have background in 3D drafting using solidworks. I do a lot in fabrication and machine shops.

Good to know there are a few places close-ish by. I was going to stop by my local bike shop this weekend and see if those guys have any pointers.

I’ve often wondered this very question myself.  Good luck and I’ll make sure to check back on this post if anyone has any more info to offer.