Thoughts on Flat Prevention…

Tagged: , ,

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author

Okay, so I am new to MTB’ing and just getting some tips and thoughts from people.

What do you guys do to help protect against flats while out on the trail? Does anyone use the Self Healing Tubes, that are filled with gel to seal punctures, and do they work well? Has anyone tried the "lining" you put inside the tire to prevent punctures? Or do you just carry a repair kit?

Thanks!

Well KB, it looks like I`m the only person posting today (except for you and Mr. Big), maybe because it`s been raining 😢 a solid 2 days now where I live (instead of being out riding 😃 ) .
      I`m not the norm, but I`ll give you my opinion on flats,
      1. Liners and "slime" are heavy.
      2. Rotating weight is the most critical weight on your bike, i.e. tires, tubes, rims, spokes, hubs, in this descending order. I don`t know how much you weigh, but a light wheelset is like heaven if your not doing super crazy stuff. What I`m trying to say is, I would much rather pack a patch kit and a small pump and change the occasional flat tire, than fill it up with slime, or put a liner in it.

That`s my 2 cents worth, take care.

Yep, looks like its just us here.

I didn’t take into consideration the extra rotating weight. I weight about 160lbs, 6’1". I really need to work on cardio training before I get to heavily into biking though, my asthma has gotten bad over the past year or two with my laziness.

Anyway I will probably go with the patch kit if I decide I really need one. I may wait until I get my first flat and then make that decision… I usually only ride a few miles from where I park, so I can walk back if it happens for now.

thanks!