Thorns a problem

Tagged: ,

Viewing 20 reply threads
  • Author

OK so here is the deal I ride in Palmer Park, Co and the is lots of cactus like thorns around and gets punctures and what to know what others do or suggest when riding in these type of areas? I don’t want to be putting new tubes in all the time.

I was wondering if going tubeless would help or not?

I currently run WTB cross country speed disc wheels and want to know if anyone has had success converting to tubeless setup?

Regards Jason

Tubeless is the way to go for sure.

I can’t offer any advice with those wheeels though, since I have no experience with them.

Check http://www.notubes.com they probably have them listed somewhere.

Stan’ Notubes has a rim strip for almost every rim out there. The guys I know who live in the desert swear by it as well.

im a big fan of running tubeless with sealant, i ride palmer all the time and know the thorns your talking about thier all over the place just straying your tire barely of the trail can get you a flat. ive been running my bike tubeless for awhile now and have had zero flats. i highly recomend going tubeless, but i would look into actual tubeless rims or tubeless compatible rims like Stans No Tubes before you buy a conversion kit, as the tubeless or tubeless compatible rims will be more reliable than a conversion kit, but if all your budget allows is the conversion kit look into the Stans No Tubes as recomended earlier and shoot them an email or give them a call to find out what kit will work best for your rims.

Thanks for the replies guys I am not sure what I will do as I don’t feel like spending the money for tubeless wheels just yet ( I have no job atm) but will see if I have too I will I guess. I may just buy new rims and swap them over and then just get them trued at the bike shop.