The best tubeless / UST 29er tires?

Tagged: , , ,

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author

I’m just getting into the whole tubeless thing on my 29er and I’m having a hard time finding many tubeless/UST tires out there. Anyone have any recommendations?

The Hutchinson Pythons keep coming up in my searches but I already have this tire and frankly the tread pattern and profile both suck (it does mount well though). I see that Maxxis makes a UST version of the CrossMark which seems like a good option, though not many retailers seem to carry it. Anyone had success with non tubeless-ready 29er tires?

I have heard really good things about Geax AKA tires. They come in tubeless or not, and 26 or 29. I’m getting some for my 26’er for next season.

What rims are you using Trek7K?

Unless you have actual UST rims, there’s no need for UST tires. If you’re using something like a Stan’s rim, or those SunRingle wheels you reviewed recently that use a Stans bead hook, you can use standard tires or tubeless ready tires. UST is a dying standard I think. More and more companies are producing tubeless ready tires, and fewer UST tires.

Every tire company has a different name/acronym for their tubeless ready tires.
      Specialized = 2Bliss Ready
      Geax = TNT – Tube No Tube
      Bontrager – TLR – Tubeless Ready
      etc.

Tubeless Ready vs UST
      UST – Universal Standard for Tubeless or something along those lines.
      This is a very specific, and stringent standard. Tire beads and rim bead hooks are manufactured to the same exact shape (reguardless of manufacturer) designed to work together. The tires are air tight, they do not require sealant, but most people will use it anyways for puncture protection. For any product to have the UST label it must go through a UST Certification process, which costs the manufacturers money.

Tubeless Ready