The Age Old Debate of Rock Shox vs. Fox

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

Speaking only on suspension (front and rear) what are everyone’s preferences/opinions on Rock Shox vs Fox suspension? Entirely subjective, not looking for right answers, just want to know what the community at large thinks. I’ve only ever ran Rock Shox but I’m debating possibly switching over. There seems to be an ebb and flow between the two where one side tops the other. When I started riding Fox was everywhere. For a while Rock Shox was everywhere and seemed to dominate the suspension market. Now it looks like Fox is staging a comeback on newer/future model bikes.

So what does everyone think, what side is best in terms of ride quality, durability, serviceability, functionality, etc?

I think the large majority of what riders have for shocks is whatever their bike came with when they purchased it.  And I think most will take their ride to an LBS for replacements, which probably turns out to be, again, whatever the bike came with in the first place.  Yeah, there are a lot of us that wrench our own bikes and make our own decisions on what to put on our bikes, but there are millions of riders that don’t.  Just my unsubstantiated opinion.

As for me, I’ve been a RockShox fork guy, mainly because of familiarity with servicing and rebuilds, and price point.  For rear shocks, it’s been Fox, once again because that’s what the bikes came with, and replacements have been Fox mainly due to fit (eyelet distance, etc.), as well as familiarity.  Bike geometry is a little more sensitive when it comes to rear shock fit than it is for forks.  The exception to a Fox rear is my most recent bike, which came with a RockShox on it.  I was expecting to feel something different, but honestly, the bikes geometry is soo different, I truthfully could not say how much of the feel is due to the rear shock versus the bike itself.  Just not an apples to apples comparison.  Having said that, I’m happy with it.