Stream Crossing Tips

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author

I’m interesting in collecting tips for difficult stream crossings. Anyone have any advice they can share? I have a few ideas of my own but I’m not an expert by any means.

However, I am an expert on keeping feet dry through stream crossings. 🙂

Keeping Your Feet Dry: MTB Stream Crossings

My first rule is unless in a warm or hot weather do not get your feet/boots/waterproof socks wet unless you have too. On a long ride you will get sweaty (!??) cold feet and loose heat leading to cold freezing feet. 5°C or lower.

My other rule is do not try to ride through a stream river if wide and or difficulty seeing the bottom in inevitably leads to stall and crash. You get wet and likely a damaged bike. I say this ’cause I have see people try. And now you are very wet and in dodgy situation.

When I do have to wade a stream I look and walk the river bank as far as reasonable to find a least boulder shallow crossing. Reason being surprisingly the rocks are slippery and trying to balance get stable footing not break your ankle while stopping your bike float away is a challenge. Even more if a laden bike packing outfit. Fatbike is even worse with the drag and floats better. Can put yourself in a difficult situation quickly in knee high water. In Scotland we have monitor the weather so not reach a river in spate. One day fine another day oh crap.

I take my socks off put my shoes back on to cross. Works ok for shoes lots of holes! Hmm boots not so well obviously.

If there is a bridge use it.

On bike packing trips I now take Vibram Furishiki wrapping sole shoes and use these to cross rivers.

Also if you have to cross try to cross diagonally go up stream. Do not try to cross a river on a bend as the outside edge is likely to be narrow and to deep.

Look for rocks poking out or noisy water as this indicates it being more shallow than still moving water. Still likely knee deep.