starter tools

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

I will start taking care of 2 full suspension bikes, and 8 hard tails with 2 air rear shocks, 4 air forks, 4 sets of hydraulic brakes wheel sizes from 26-27.5-29 and no carbon. I have a "shop" set up in my grandparents basement and I am wondering what kind of tools and chemicals I will need to take good care of all of the above parts. I will be starting with little to no tools (basic screwdrivers and a set of pliers).

I have been doing my own bike repairs ever since I was around 10 years old. I have been accumulating tools ever since, and have kept updating to better tools over the years. Here are some tool sets that in my humble opinion should get you a started right:
      1. A good floor pump
      2. A bike tube vulcanizing patch kit with tire levers
      3. A bike shock pump
      4. Chain lube, I like dry lubes the best for MTB
      5. Shop towels
      6. A secure bike repair stand
      7. I love my Craftsman Mechanic set (similar to this one – Craftsman 9-35137 Laser Mechanics Tool Set, 137-Piece)
      8. Some screw drivers

*(For advanced bike repairs) I don’t have these tools. I usually have my local bike shop do this type of work.
      9. Torque wrench 1/4" drive
      10. Chain breaker tool
      11. Cassette lock ring tools
      12. Pedal wrench
      13. Chain whip tool
      14. Three-way spoke wrench
      15. Bottom bracket wrench
      16. Wheel truing stand

Did I miss any other ones?

I am acualy about the age you started and i think that helps a lot

"aewynn0915" wrote

I am acualy about the age you started and i think that helps a lot

That is so cool that you’re doing that. Do you have a local bike co-op place near where you live? They could give you a lot of hands on lessons for repairing bikes. Local bike shops also often have classes.

Sent from my Z10 using Tapatalk 2

Start with the easy stuff. Pliers, Allen wrenches, open end wrenches, etc.