So you want to upgrade from 26 to 29?

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author

Do your homework!
      I have been riding a full suspension bike for the last 3 years. A Specialized 2009 FRS XC to be exact. Since the time that I purchased the bike it seems that it has become all but obsolete mostly because it seems that all anyone is buying now are these 29er’s. Now, I love my ole bike. It rides great and I love the way it handles out on the singletrack. After listening to just about everybody that has crossed over from the 26 to 29 it seemed like I might as well be riding an old Huffy. According to them the difference was night and day. "Everything is better on a 29’er". After months and months of of constant badgering by my riding buddy’s I broke down and went to the bike store with the intentions of buying this new 29’er contraption. My choice was going to be the Specialized Stumpjumper. Well the bike store had just sold the last one that was my size and my price range. "Wow that must be the bike to get if the bike store cant even hold on to them". Well for the next few weeks I went on on my old bike and I loved it as always. Then one weekend Specialized came to my local trails with Demo’s. "GREAT!!" So I hopped on the almighty Stumpjumper and took it for a few laps… I hated it. I hated every aspect of the ride. "wow I guess I dodged a bullet there" I thought as I brought the bike back. I told them what I thought about their beloved Stumpy and they weren’t all that shocked to hear me say that. They then suggested I try out the Camber. I figured since I had some more time I would give it a shot. WOW! Now this is great! It was the ride I was use to on my old bike. Actually it felt like I was on my old bike. So I went back to the bike shop and I picked up one for myself. Do I love it? Yes. Although I feel like I am just riding my old bike with bigger tires. Could I have lived without it? Yes. One thing I wish to get through to anyone thinking of crossing over is, Do you