So i’m a new

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author

Hello all, I am new to MTB. For along time, I rode XC, but recently I have gotten the urge for a bit more excitement. Now, I purchased a "cheep" mountain bike on Black Friday (Mongoose XR-75) just for S&G’s only now to realize through reviews that this bike isn’t exactly something to be proud of. So first of all, is there any recommendations on bikes (less than $350) that are a good average starter? At least for now, I’d be keeping things fairly mellow.

Other than that, I’m glad i found Singletracks.com and look forward to getting into this.

Welcome to Single Tracks.Just have fun and see if you even need to up grade bikes.I started out with a Raleigh,then to a 98 Special,now I ride a 2010 Tomac Automatic .Along with all the other garb that goes along with riding the first year seems to be expensive. 😃

Welcome Railbiker,sounds like you are determined to ride a mountain bike.Yes there are a few bike’s in your price range;

Giant Rincon;
      [url:3pq4niih]http://www.singletracks.com/mtbreviews/Giant/Rincon/169.html[/url:3pq4niih]

Iron Horse Warrior 1.3
      [url:3pq4niih]http://www.singletracks.com/mtbreviews/Iron-Horse/Warrior-1.3/1213.html[/url:3pq4niih]

Trek 3900
      [url:3pq4niih]http://www.singletracks.com/mtbreviews/Trek/3900/15.html[/url:3pq4niih]

These are a few of the popular one’s that I know of,some other’s may chime in with other bike’s in your price range as well although here is the mountain bike review link where the above bike’s were found here on singletracks.com and you can look through and browse othere bike’s as well..

Hardtail bike reviews
      [url:3pq4niih]http://www.singletracks.com/mtbreviews/Hardtail-bikes/3.htm[/url:3pq4niih]