Single Track Natural Direction Indicators

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

I’m new to the sport. I am riding a "bunny slope" type trail system in north Texas that is loosely maintained by the local parks and recreation board. It is a single track in a densely forested area with limited vision. There are trail head markers indicating the proper direction. UNFORTUNATELY, the markers cover about 50% of the trails. The rest are left up to the riders discretion.

In the 300 hundred hours of youtube tutorials I’ve been watching I vaguely recall one mentioning natural indicators on a trail that show the proper direction. Things like rut location, bumps/marks in the dirt from braking, lateral slope, and more. But I can’t find it again.

I’ve been out a half dozen times and maybe 10 hours of ride time. I want to be a good citizen but I’m getting frustrated when well deserved dirty looks are pointed my direction.

Can anybody reply with a simple list of things to look for on the trail to warn you that your about to get steam rolled by a band of 16 year old screaming banshees?

Hi Grinder, I understand your question, but IMO, I’m not sure if it is really a problem. I’ve ridden many loop type trails in either direction, and have met up with many riders that do the same (going the opposite direction as I). I will normally do a trail the "right" way the first time I ride it, then will try it in the opposite direction later.

You just need to keep a good eye out if you’re riding uphill for riders coming down fast. They should be doing the same for you. One of the rules of the trail is for the downhill rider to give way to the uphill rider, because the rider heading down can get restarted much more easily. This doesn’t always happen, and personally, I follow the cues of the other rider. Many times you have an uphill rider pull off for you. Just remember that they actually have the right of way.