riding park and natural trails in Colorado in july?

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author
      Hello everybody,
      I’m your newest forum member. I became a fan of singletracks.com when I was doing a road trip through the US last year and googled “best mountain bike trails in <state>” and found all the info I needed for each state.  Thanks to you I had a blast on gems such as White Mesa in Albuquerque and Winsor in Santa Fe.
      9-22 july I’ll be in Arizona (i already know and love the flagstaff trails), and either the week before (july 2-8) or after that (july 23-29) we plan to hit colorado, where i’ve never ridden before so I need some help.
      I hope to ride bike park which I’ve never done before. I’m looking for roller coaster flow trails with small jumps and drops, and want to hit some natural trails as well. (e.g. phil’s world in cortez, sittle scraggy trail loop in pine, monarch crest and maybe the ribbon in redlands)
      Probably will spend a couple days in crested butte since it has great trails and also a bike park
      My questions:
      1) should I be concerned about rain/thunderstorms? in which of the mentioned locations? would early or late july be better?
      2) i presume heat will be a concern. would early or late july be better?
      3) anyone familiar with the bike parks? evolution looks good, but keystone might be better? are both parks operational in july? is there another CO bike park I should be looking at?
      thanks folks! Greetings from Malta.

Always, always, always bring a rain jacket on day trips in the Colorado Rockies.  Even in July, afternoons are usually accompanied by a passing thunderstorm which can bring hail, lightning and cold rain.  Half hour later all is clear and blue sky, so not having a rain shell of some kind is a mistake.  Dress and prepare for a 30 degree temp swing throughout the day.  Have fun!