Questions About Mountain Biking

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

Hi everyone!
      I’m a student in the EPG program at Berea College and I was wondering if I you could answer a few questions. If you feel uncomfortable or do not want to answer certain questions feel free to skip them.Our group would really appreciate it if you could help us out! Thanks so much!

Our questions include:
      How far do you usually travel to participate in mountain biking?<span class=”text_exposed_show”>
      How many people do you usually go with?
      Do you stay overnight? If you do what kind of places do you stay at? (hotel, campground, etc.)
      How much do you spend on an average trip?
      How do you find out about events?
      Why do you mountain bike?</span>

Are these questions geared for responses related to traveling/vacations for mountain biking, or from an average daily/weekly perspective?

If traveling/vacationing… 

How far do you usually travel to participate in mountain biking? 1,000-2,000 miles
      How many people do you usually go with? 2-4
      Do you stay overnight? If you do what kind of places do you stay at? (hotel, campground, etc.)  Yes. Condominium.
      How much do you spend on an average trip?  $3,000-$5,000
      How do you find out about events?  Websites, magazines
      Why do you mountain bike? It’s fun!  Exercise.  Great hobby.

If average daily/weekly… 

How far do you usually travel to participate in mountain biking? 5-20 miles
      How many people do you usually go with? 1-2
      Do you stay overnight? If you do what kind of places do you stay at? (hotel, campground, etc.)  No.
      How much do you spend on an average trip?  $5
      How do you find out about events?  Websites, magazines
      Why do you mountain bike? It’s fun!  Exercise.  Great hobby.

This data is a few years old, but you might find it helpful.

Mountain Bike Tourism: By the Numbers

If traveling/vacationing…