Question for Colorado riders!

Tagged: 

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author

Hey everyone! New to the site and to mountain biking. Just got a bike last week and my wife nearly beat me for spending only $650! Got me curious as to how much the average rider pays for just their stock bike? I told her it’s probably around $1500 with all the santa cruz’s, yeti’s, full suspensions, etc.

So how much did you pay?!

And if you’re ever out riding and see someone pushing their Felt up a hill it’s probably me! Shout a hello as you blaze pass. And hopefully it won’t be long and I won’t have to walk it up. 😀

– Jeremy

Good question…

I paid around $700 (I think) for my bike and I’ve been riding it for 8 or 9 years now! But, according to our ongoing survey (just over 1500 responses so far), 44% of singletracks folks plan on spending $1500+ for their NEXT bike. The real question is what did folks spend on their CURRENT bike – might be a good bit different …

2007 Stump Jumper elite,I paid $2500.

$1700 for ’05 Trek Fuel EX8….but a little more for my next bike (’08 Blur LT) 😃

A buddy of mine just paid about $750 for a Mongoose..great frame but components are wearing out a little too fast.

So, if I post the right number and your wife allows you back in bed with her does that mean I get some $s from you to use toward my next bike?? 😆

I think I paid about $1,400 for my Trek Fuel 90 about six years ago. You may not want to tell her that in the years since I have pumped hundreds of dollars more into it for tires, chains, new wheels, brakes, pedals, cassettes, rings, seat, deraileurs, broken frames, (yes, I now have a completely new frame), shock rebuilds, etc. Its a sport that keeps on taking! But it is so worth it.

Thanks everyone for the responses!

Yeah I was hoping to spend about 12-1500 next year for a bike I could use on the road and for a tri. But I’ve already had to promise to let her spend all the money we get from taxes next year on whatever she wants! haha