please help

Tagged: ,

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author

Same ole question what bike.. iam a 49 year old female 5’8" 185 and maybe a little more): I am a coach at a high school and i am pretty athletic and do not want a women’s bike…to small.

I will not be flying down any hills or jumping off cliffs with the bike. Mostly single track and a few hills here in Georgia.

I have want fs and I have up to 2600ish to spend. I want a bike that in 2 years if I need to sell that I want get killed… just mugged so resale value??

I have looked and ridden the follow

09 stumpjumper fsr comp
      09 Giant anthem 2 and 3
      Mongoose canaan elite
      08 demo specialized epic elite

Again I will be glad to look at anything suggested.. the mongoose had gereat specs, but it is a mongoose?? i loved the anthem 2 but better than stumpy??? the bike shop was pushing me towards giant.. They sell both specialized and giant..

the 08 epic is a demo they have??

Well folks please help….

Welcome upi!

I don’t know much of the Mongoose bikes but Mongoose (the person) is a very reliable source. I’m not a huge fan of Specialized but i’m sure they’re both great Bikes now Anthems i have actually taken one for a ride and loved it. although, you should explore the less known brands out there. you could get a mind blowing bike for within that $2,600 and, its always cool to be pedaling something you won’t see anybody else on the trail riding.

you’ve expressed that you don’t want a women’s bike but, i do suggest whatever bike you do end up with replacing the saddle (seat) with a women’s specific saddle designed to support you body better and make the ride more comfortable and with that the experience will more enjoyable overall. My girlfriend learned this the hard way. Just a suggestion but i think its a worthwhile investment especially if you plan to spend alot of time on that bike.

good luck!