padded biking underwear / liner

Tagged: ,

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author

Hey everybody,
      So I am pretty new to the Singletrack world but I am getting pretty into it, at least as much as I can with work, school, and kids all on my plate. I make it out at least once a week but now that I am trying to go twice a weekend it is taking a toll on my ass, I switched out my stock saddle to a WTB Pure V Comp, which improved but still made the second ride a little painful. I am not quite ready to drop 75 dollars on padded baggy biking shorts. So I figure maybe the padded underwear would be a cheaper step in the right, more comfortable, direction. I saw some on Nashbar.com but was hoping to get some advice on the topic ie recommendations.
      Thanks for the help!
      Zach

Hi there Spare and welcome to the site!

First off, I’m not trying to talk you out of buying things, just sharing my experience with the matter of tender bums and jiggly bits.

I am incredibly cheap and find the idea of $100 shirts, $75 shorts, $300 seats and the like to be laughable. I ride with a cheap WTB seat and underwear, athletic shirts and cargo shorts from Wal-Mart. I ride at least three times a week for about 20 miles a ride, so I get to spend a lot of time on the saddle. I can tell you from the viewpoint of about 3,000 miles on the bike in the last year alone that your tukas will toughen up and the pain will subside. Sometimes, I’ll do a long ride(for me) of about 40 miles and when I’m done my ass is about the only thing that doesn’t hurt.