out of shape lol

Tagged: 

Viewing 23 reply threads
  • Author

Ok I am a 5 year amateur bodybuilder. I spend two an a half hours 5 days a week in the gym I think I am in great shape and then I go mountain biking this morning and wow that kicked my ass it is hard lol. I squat 500# standing and leg press up to 1300# without a problem and I go mountain biking and my leg are like rubber .I have a lot of work to do on the trails this is fun

Yeah, just different muscle groups. I had the same trouble when I was just starting. I run long distance and thought that translated well into biking but when I encountered my first uphill, man I knew I was in trouble! But it gets easier. So just keep at it and have fun 😃

I will deff be doing it a few times a week and I will try to master mountain biking too it was so much fun and a few oh sh-t moments just on my first day

MTI

Welcome to the ride you will have fun! Nothing wrong with some cross training!

very true

Welcome to MTBing. 😛

Nothing I’ve found demands the kind of sustained aerobic exertion as steep long uphills, and it’s such a pain to start uphill. Of course if you were schlepping feather weight arms like me up those hills would make it a lot easier. LOL Enjoy

lol

I know the feeling. Just when I thought I was getting into better shape from mountain biking, I started getting into road biking and even just switching between the two different types of biking, I am a completely different type/level of sore after a day on my road bike 😆

I hope you don’t mind losing a little muscle mass… I’m sure you will be leaner too and in better cardio shape for a positive though.

I don’t think I will loose any muscle mass from biking may loose some fat % but that’s all and gain some needed cardio right now I am at 180# so I will monitor my weight can’t wait to get back out there and do again maybe Tuesday morning after the gym and before work

Welcome to the sport!! It will break you, but leave you wanting more!