Opinions please! Type of bike for road trip…

Tagged: , , ,

Viewing 15 reply threads
  • Author

Hey all, my first post here on the forums. I am relatively new to MTBing, I have been into it for less than a year. I have an 08 Trek 4300 hard tail that I absolutely love. I am 41 years old, and am in pretty good cardio shape. I have ridden at Santos MTB Park in Ocala Florida, and Alafia in Riverview, Florida. I feel pretty confident on the intermediate trails, some mild jumps, and technical rock garden type stuff.
      All that in mind, I am planning a trip out west in May 09. I am planning on hitting spots in Fruita, CO, Moab, UT, Bryce Canyon UT, and Flagstaff, AZ. Keep in mind I know my limits, and I am not going to be doing any insane drops or crazy downhills at full boar. I am mainly going for sightseeing, photography and just a little R&R.
      I see so many people riding FS bikes on some of these trails, and I am starting to wonder if my hardtail is going to cut it out there. I mean, I ride the HT on some pretty crazy stuff at Alafia, and I have never had an issue. I can easily log 20 miles on up/down trails without feeling beat up. Do I need a FS setup for this kind of riding, or can a capable HT take on stuff like Slickrock in Moab and Thunder Mountain trail in Bryce?
      I was eyeing a FS Trek in the shop the other day, but at $1300, I can’t see spending that much while I need to be socking money away to make this 2 week trip happen. I am thinking if I take these trails slow and just stay within my limits, the HT should suffice. Opinions? Thanks in advance!

Yea I know what its like – we all want to get the best bang for our buck and not regret it later-
      I ride a ht in alaska where there is more xcountry stuff and a fs outside where a lot of my riding is more aggressive singletrack.