Old Guy, New Member

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author

Greetings, everyone! I’ve owned a mountain bike (Giant Acapulco) since 1994. I used it to get around in Japan while stationed there, but never really did any true mountain biking with it until 2014, when I started riding on trails around my house.  During the last residency of my masters program this summer (2015), I took the bike out on the trails at Hartman Rocks in Gunnison, CO and fell in love with the adrenaline rush of riding trails, at least as much as I could on a fully rigid MTB (accidentally did a double black diamond…oops). When I got back to the Springs, I started hitting Palmer Park and Cheyenne Mountain State Park, beating up as many of the technical trails as I could without breaking my neck.

I’d been having trouble with tremors and stiffness for months, but when I rode, they all went away. No tremors, not balance issues, no stiffness–just me and my old, archaic bike beating up the trails.

Turns out I have young onset Parkinson’s, so my time riding might be limited, but my wife just bought me a Specialized Pitch Comp for Christmas, and I plan to hit as many trails as I can in whatever time I have left in t he saddle. Riding (and martial arts) are how I fight back against this damned disease, how I keep my body working even if my brain isn’t so much. I’m no daredevil, but at least on this bike I can handle the harder stuff a little better. What I do know is that every minute on the bike is a minute I’m not worrying about this illness, so I’ll do as much as I can. When the snow melts, of course. 🙂

Maybe I’ll see some of you out on the local trails!

Welcome Chris, sounds like you’re bringing a great attitude to mountain biking! I guess none of us really know how much time we have left in the saddle so we gotta ride every chance–and everywhere–we can!