noob from south Arkansas

Tagged: , ,

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

Hey guys/gals I am totally new to the sport and have been researching for almost a month on what I wanted in a bike, I have been on several forums and most I have been on are bike snobs, that i didnt like and once I found this site I decided this was the one i wanted to be a part of! 😃 So I decided on the things that I wanted to try and get (within my budget) for my first bike. I Decided to go with a 2013 Felt Six 80 HT 26er. I narrowed it down between this and a nice entry level bike made by Giant but this one won me over because it has separate Shifters and brakes, the other had integrated and the Giant had Shimano and the Felt has SRAM shifters and Tektro disc brakes…for the price my LBS gave me on this bike and the less equipped Giant I couldnt pass on the Felt…not for $11.00 difference. I had originally set my budget at $325 and had found a Vilano Blackjack but couldnt get a good feel for it so a buddy sent me to see the owner of the LBS and I ended up going up to $400 which was secretly my budget in my head for a bike but wanted to save if i could but the deal on this bike $120.00 bucks off a name brand with decent setup with a good warranty was worth ALOT more to me than saving the $75 bucks. Anyway, now im ready to learn as much as possible and get out and hit some trails…First ride is going to be next weekend at Pinnacle Mtn here in Arkansas…Nothing crazy but somewhere i can play with the bike. Well sorry for such a long opening hopefully ill see some of you out on the trail…Thanks….Mike

Congratulations on the new bike. Have some fun! 😃