Noob from KY

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

Hello all, I’m new to singletrack, and also to biking in general. I’m from central Kentucky, and havn’t ridden for about 10 years. Quit smoking and got a bike to get myself back into shape. This forum is very informative, and I am glad I found it. Wish i had done some research here before I bought my bike… I picked up a 22in ’08 Trek 4500 hardtail, and have been riding to and from work, and around the neighborhood. I will be hitting a few trails soon, there are plenty to choose from around here. I know i like the bike a lot, but I am a beginner, and that may change in the future. I have no intentions of getting the tires off the ground if i can help it, and for what i need it for, it’s been great so far. Some of the bikes i have seen on this site have been pretty awsome. I had a hard enough time explaining to the pregnant wife why I paid $600 for a bike, let alone any more than that. The lockout on the suspension sold me. Other bikes I had tested out would nearly bottom out when i used the brakes. Rock shox dart 3 I believe… is what’s on it. well I just wanted to introduce myself and say thanks for all the great information i have found here. If there is anyone around my way, give me a holler.

Welcome Homegrown ta to mountain biking and singletracks.com.Hope the wife was’nt too angery about you spending that money on a mountain bike,maby she was just mad cause you didnt buy her a mounatin bike too.do your best to get her interested.this sport is awsome cause anyone can get into it and enjoy the experiences mountain biking has to offer. 😃