Newbie from NC (Wionston-Salem) area

Tagged: 

Viewing 16 reply threads
  • Author

Hello All,

My name is Ryan and I live in Pfaftown NC. I’m 30 years young and been married for ten years with two wonderful children.

I’m new to the cycling scene and I think I have found my new hobby with MTB’s. I have been a police officer for the Winston-Salem Police Department for the past seven years. The past couple of years I have found myself getting lazy because of my other hobby which is web graphic design and graphic art… More than that it’s a definite risk getting out of shape in my job field.

Finding myself looking back to my childhood and remembering all the great times I had on a bike I though why not give it another shot. I recently bought my mountain bike (2008 Trek 3700 / I had to start somewhere..lol) and I am loving every minute of it. At 5’10 and reaching a nasty max weight of 260 (currently 245) I think this will definitely help loose some unwanted dangerous pounds.

Anyway, I look forward to getting to know everyone… maybe I will learn a thing or two while I am here.

Welcome aboard. This is probably the most addicting sport I can think of. Especially if you like being outside and can spend the time to check out new trails in your area. NC has some great trail systems so you definately are in a good location to start. Talk to the guys in your department and I bet you will find a couple of other guys that share the passion too. I was surprised to find out out how many guys in our department are avid riders and it’s always good to have a couple of riding buddies to push you and help you learn new stuff. Start on a simple, non-drastic diet and go out and have fun and you’ll be amazed at how fast you start dropping weight. I know guys that have dropped 20-30lbs in 3 months without even feeling like they were trying. Good luck and enjoy your bike!

Thanks,

I am definitely excited about riding. My partner like to ride as well but mainly road bikes.