Newbe middle aged man

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author

Hi, I’m pretty new to the sport. I bought a second hand Commencal El Camino a few weeks ago and I’m just getting the feel of it on local trails at weekends. Longer term plans are to get out of mountain trails in the Peak District, Lake District and North Wales as these areas are fairly easily accessible from Manchester where I live.

My question is, am I being realistic by expecting to learn a whole new sport at 47 years old? I’m fairly fit and strong and I am perfectly capable of riding a bike. I’ve been really enjoying riding local trails but I do want to graduate to proper mountain descents. Is this a realistic goal at my age? Has anyone else here come to the sport at mid forties?

That’s when I started. I don’t think you should expect to compete on Red Bull Hardline or Rampage, but you will find your skills continuously improve and that process is fun. Even if you aren’t “highlight reel” caliber, you’ll still be having a blast. It took me about a year of regular riding before I started feeling comfortable at higher speeds and I am still working on skills.

Absolutely Sean!  Age is just a number.  It does not define a person nor what they are capable of.  I started MTB’ing 5 years ago (I was also 47 then).  The fact that you are fit and strong is a great starting point.  As an avid runner that regularly trained with weights my fitness was high when I started and that certainly helped.  But early on the sport kicked my a$$.  It challenges you differently.  But like anything else, the more you ride the better you get.  There are plenty of guys (and girls) in the sport in their 50’s, 60’s and even 70+.  Just get comfortable on the trails and progress your riding as you gain confidence and skill on the bike.  The only real age-related issue i’ve found is that the body just doesn’t heal as quickly from injury.  Go have fun & welcome to the sport!