Newb here with so many questions

Forums Mountain Bike Forum Newb here with so many questions

--
SHARES

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author

My name is Joe and I am definitely a newbie here. Signed up to this forum to ask some or rather many questions. When I was younger (about 15-20 years ago now) I use to love taking my bmx bike on the trails and ride them hard. I loved climbing cause I knew the descent would be so worth it. Finding lines and making my way around things just seemed so fun. Then I stopped biking almost entirely. Most recently, for a while now I’ve been considering buying a mtb, and now that I am looking to pull the trigger on a bike I’ve realized I didn’t do enough of my homework. I’ll read one article and be set on a full sus bike, then I’ll read another article and think maybe I should start out with a hardtail.

With so many features on bikes I’m not sure where to begin. I plan on riding anything and everything. A lot of the super local trails by me are flat with minor ascents. So i figured suspension lockouts are good? do all bikes come with this feature?

I also plan to ride heavier trails with rock gardens and the such. I mean when I think about riding thats what i think about most. I want to hit jumps, and drops offs, probably nothing serious yet but I definitely want air time.

what about dropper posts? is this something most bikes come with? What should i look for when looking into this.

How much travel do i need? I was considering something between 130mm-150mm

I guess my major question is where do i start? How do i settle on a first timers bike? I should also state ive been looking into buying used bikes so i can save some money. I figured once i actually get a bike and start riding then i’ll figure out whats most important to me in terms of features. So i dont exactly want to break the wallet on my first bike.