newb here.. can’t decide

Tagged: 

Viewing 31 reply threads
  • Author

Hey there complete newb here! So I was thinking of getting a road bike for a fun cardio workout, but when I heard about the 10 miles of single track just outside of town, I was sold on that immediately. I can already tell that I’m going to love this sport/hobby. I have about $500 to spend at the moment. I know that limits my options but thats all I can set aside for now. So basically I want a new hardtail trail bike that has a decent frame, with maybe not the greatest components ( I will upgrade as I go). I have already checked craigslist and all I found was bikes over $1000 and cheap walmart bikes. So I’ve been checking ebay and I’m seeing many of these 2013 marin bikes

[url:3tk48fwb]http://www.ebay.com/itm/2013-Marin-PIONEER-TRAIL-29er-17-Hardtail-MTB-Bike-Shimano-8s-Disc-Brake-NEW-/310883337883?pt=US_Bicycles_Frames&hash=item486217469b[/url:3tk48fwb]

So far this is the best option I have found. Does anyone know of a better new entry level bike in that price range. Also, whats a good size frame for me? I’m 5’10 160 lbs. Thanks!

Hi and welcome! First $500 doesn’t get a lot. I started at $600 and ended up at $1700.LOL That being said I found that some new old models are out there. Check Jenson America. They have some older bikes. Talk to the LBS see what they have from last year or even the year before. The marin line isn’t bad for the money. Ebay is sometimes flooded with marin. Keep lookin and you will find something! Do look at the jenson site. Also look at airborne. Good luck! I just did this search and drove myself NUTS! My best advice as I just finished this is Don’t overthink it!

Like Fishboy316 suggested, I’d recommend checking your local bike shops to see if they have any bikes from the past couple of years lineups. I’ve went that route on a few of my bikes and I have bought them at a nice discount.