New XC/Trail Tires

Tagged: 

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author

<p style=”text-align: left;”>Hey all! I’m fairly new to mountain biking(first year) and need to get some new tires for my bike. I currently have the specialized fast trak 29er 2.0 tires on the front and back and wanted to get more grip with my tires, but can only go up to 2.2 due to my rims being only 19mm. Is there any good tire combonations that give more grip on cornering and downhill, but also roll well uphill that are 2.2? I’ve heard maxxis has good tires, but don’t know which ones to get. I live in Utah where it is dry and rocky. If I could get suggestions that would be great! Thanks!</p>

The Maxxis Ikon would be a good choice.

I think the Maxxis Rekon comes in a 2.25

Its a very versatile tire that rolls fast but still hooks up nicely for many trail conditions.

First off,  it’s not true that you are limited to 2.2 tires because you have i19 rims.  I rode 2.4 Maxxis Ardents on i18 rims on my Specialized Epic for years and that setup worked great.  However, I wouldn’t go any wider than 2.4 on an i19 rim.  I would also want to be certain that you have enough frame clearance for 2.4 tires but it’s likely that you do.  Most modern bikes have clearance for 2.4 tires.   If in doubt, check with the local dealer of your bike.  I live in southwestern Colorado so your conditions are similar to mine – a mix of deserts and mountains.  Wider tires with aggressive tread work best in these conditions so I would be looking for some 2.3-2.4 Trail tires.  I would stay away from lightly-treaded light-casing XC tires because they don’t give much traction in loose conditions and the side walls are easily sliced.  Also stay away from the very heavy Downhill/Enduro specific tires because they can be heavy and slow rolling.   I would be looking for aggressive 2.3-2.4 Trail tires in the 800-900gm range.  Here are some tires I recommend.

2.3 Maxxis Minion DHR

2.4 Maxxis Ardent

2.4 Maxxis Rekon