new to singletrack…

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

Hey everyone, im new to the sport, and not really sure if the locals treat you the way a surfer would paddleing out for the first time? I currently am riding a hybrid style bike set up for more trail riding than street. will i get burned on the local single track for not havin a mtb?

Some folks will look at you funny others won’t. I am fine chatting or riding with folks on $5000 bikes or wal-mart specials. I ride to have fun and if you are there for the same I’ll help you out as much as possible.

Greetings fellow singletracker. Welcome to the coolest MTB forum on the planet!!!!!!! As everyone has already stated, you may get a laugh or two, but the name of the game is just having fun. I say ride your hybrid proud. I have my own hybrid Mongoose Blackcomb MTB which I turned into a road bike. I get some weird looks from the roadies as we pass on the streets but I guarantee my bikes more comfortable 😃 . Anyhow, once again welcome aboard ride hard and have fun!!! 😛

Ditto to the "fun" comments. But, I will add that I think the more you ride off road singletrack, the more you will want to get a full-on mountain bike. It really makes a difference. I road and trained on a hybrid for a while around St. Louis before moving to the Denver area. Now, I ride a full-on mountain bike in the mountains, train on a sweet single-speed on the road, and commute/tour with a full touring bike. Three bikes seems like a lot to someone like me, but I’ve found that the "fun factor" goes up quite a bit when you ride a specialized bike that you’ve picked out with care.
      welcome.

Hey dude,welcome hybridrider.Cool to have ya on board here at singletracks.com.

will i get burned on the local single track for not havin a mtb?

One thing is for sure,wether or not you get burned depends on how much fun your having.If your having fun,there’s no way your gonna get burned.Ride on dude.