New to REAL MTB from Kansas!

Viewing 18 reply threads
  • Author

Hello, All!

I’ve been completing trail runs for fun for a few years. Doesn’t matter to me if it’s just smooth trail in the woods or steep and rocky. I’m gonna run it. I’ve had a couple injuries in the last four years that have got me worried about not being able to run forever. The last one wasn’t really running related but reminded me I’m not 18 anymore.

When I was in my teens, I rode a lot of trails, jumps, roads, etc, etc on my 12 speed Huffy. Probably did a lot of things I wasn’t supposed to do with it. Never knew that it was "a thing" at the time.

So, fast forward to within the last 60 days or so. I’m recovering from a shoulder surgery back in March. I started running again trying to burn off the 25 lbs I put on in the previous year of being restricted from any type of "extreme" physical activity. (Dr’s definition and mine are waaaay off.) I decided I wanted to start "mountain biking" along with trail running. Granted I live in Central Kansas so it will likely be less mountain and more rocky and rooted trail. Although, I vacation almost annually to locations much less flat than here and will get plenty of opportunity for real mountain biking.

Anywho, I’ve spent the last 3 – 4 weeks researching the sport and equipment. I realize everyone has their own flavor and it seems there’s equipment to fit all likes.