New to MTBing FORKS QUESTION!!!

Forums Mountain Bike Forum New to MTBing FORKS QUESTION!!!

Viewing 15 reply threads
  • Author

Hey guys, my name is MJ and I am new to mountain biking. Right now I am just riding a Walmart special, but am looking into upgrading ASAP. I have rode BMX bikes for 17 years and im [i:kqbac3x3]finally[/i:kqbac3x3] making the transition to MTB. Anyways here is my question (for finding the right bike for me)…

Every bike I see has SR Suntours and I have found a few top entry level bikes that come with forks that are either SR SUNTOUR XCL or XRL RL w/remote lock out or RockShox Dart 3 w/ lockout…both are 100mm, which is better for an entry level rider that plans to jump, do gaps and ride aggressively?

Thanks for all yalls input.

None of the above. Those forks are designed for just regular XC riding, not big jumps, gaps, etc.

What kind of riding are you planning on doing exactly? Or better yet, where do you plan to ride?

Blankets creek i heard is alot of fun with jumps and just other trails around the North Georiga area. I am the type of rider that has the "go big or go home" attitude, so i am looking for an entry level fork that will hold up until ill make that upgrade. Ive delayed on buying my bike until i figure out which would be the better steal…