New to Mt Biking…Question about Helmets???

Mountain bike trails & Mountain bike reviews Protected: Forums Mountain Bike Forum New to Mt Biking…Question about Helmets???

Tagged: 

Viewing 21 reply threads
  • Author

Hey, I’m new to the sport. I’m looking to get more into it though. I have done some off road biking in the past but not much. Anyway I want to do more but I currently don’t own a bike helmet (and i am not doing any Mt biking without one) I had one but it broke so I need a new one… So my question is if I should get a full face helmet or an open face. I am new to the sport so I probably don’t need a full face. However, the areas that I plan on riding are somewhat challenging. There area lot of inclines and tight turns rocks ect. Also I do like to ride somewhat fast if it’s on a paved road or off road. I have also crashed a few times were I bashed my face up riding off road so I would like as much as possible to avoid doing that again…anyway let me know what you think

Thanks

im not going to be doing anything extreme but im going full face, i dont care if people look at me like im an idiot but they look cooler and really arent that heavy plus the extra protection is nice

Well everyone has opinions on what helmets to wear..I just have to ask one question…How long are your usual rides and how hot.

Thanks for all the advice guys! Yeah I am thinking about just getting a Full Face. I will only be using it for off road biking so I might as well have the extra protection. There were a few helmets I was looking at…but I was curious if maybe you could suggest some others? I don’t want anything wicked expensive just something that will keep my head intact and looks cool =D

Once you decide on the type of helmet to buy the choices of helmet vary greatly with regards to cost. Generally you will want to try on several brands cause the fit will vary from brand to brand,