New to Mountain biking and new to Costa Rica

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author

Hello everyone, my name is Jason Hopkins and as the title says I am new to this sport. I recently moved here to Costa Rica (where my wife is from) after getting medially retired from the Army after 17 years. I have always been on two wheels but until now (well soon when I get a bike) it has always been powered. I raced motocross and Hare Scrambles since I was about 5 and now that I am here in this beautiful country I thought I would give mountain biking a try. Ultimately I want to race, I am way to competitive to just leisurely ride along a trail. So I have a few questions for everyone….well mainly one…where the heck do I start. I mean so many bike choices, so many frame materials, so many different setups, I have no idea where to go. Also how do I learn to work on my bikes? I can do a complete motor rebuild on a 450 MX bike but I have no idea of anything on a mountain bike. Also has anyone done the De Ruta de los Conquistadores here in Costa Rica? http://www.adventurerace.com/ Now I dont think I would be able to compete this coming year as it seems pretty intense but later I would like to do it. Well thanks for any advice and help.

I would start by checking into the riding scene in your area. What kind of riding and racing seems to be the most popular? Then I would definitely try it out before committing to any particular riding style. Cross Country (XC) is VERY different from downhill (DH) racing. Then there’s the growing enduro racing. And none of those are anything like freestyle riding. They all need different models of bikes too.