New rider looking at a Giant NRS. Can you help?

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author

Hello all. Im new to mountain biking and new to purchasing one. I read through some posts here and on the internet. I kinda have an idea of frame size and what to look for. But I had some questions i was hoping some people here could chime in and tell me if the following bike is worth it for me.
      I dont know how hardcore im going to get into mountain biking. I really want to start with riding some local beginner trails and work up to bigger things. Im not in real good shape right now. Im 33 and 6’2 and 198 pounds and am a computer tech who stares at a screen all day. I need to get outside and was hoping this bike would do it. I want to get a bike I can grow into.
      On a side note. I had a Raleigh Technium road bike when i was younger (15-16) and I rode it everywhere and loved it. I got out of biking when i got married and tried getting back into it a couple years ago. I bought a Walmart NEXT mountainbike. It basically ruined the hobby for me as it was/is always broken and right now wont shift properly and the chain jumps off the sprocket when pedaling hard up a hill. However it was alot of fun for the first few months i had it.

Here the last month or two i have looked at a lot of bikes.

That said can you help me?

Is this bike good and what would you pay for it used?

2005 Giant Air NRS
      20.5 inch frame.

following components:
      Shifters: XT Rapid Fire,
      Stem: 110mm Ritchey WCS,
      Handlebar: Easton EC70,
      Front Fork: Rock Shox Sid,
      Rear Shock: Fox,
      Hubs: XTR centerlock 965,
      Rims: Ritchey WCS,
      Spokes: DT Competition,
      Crankset: Race Face Prodigy,
      Pedals: none,
      Seatpost: Easton EC70 27.2,
      Saddle: Selle Italia Flite or Fizik,
      Tires: Bontrager Revolt ss,
      Front Deraileur: LX,
      Rear Deraileur: XT,
      Chain: LX/XT,
      Cassette: Sram 970 11/32,
      Brakes: Shimano XT dual piston.