New MTBer looking for advice on buying a bike

Tagged: 

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author

I am new to mountain biking and just love it. I am looking to buy a new bike and doing some research. I am 5’5" tall and weigh 130lbs. I have an opportunity to buy a barely used 2009 Cannondale 29er 4 for $650. I want to know your thoughts on this bike for a person my size. Is the 29er too big for me? Would I climb better with a 26er or a 29er. I will give up a little on handling for a better climber. Will I even notice much difference between the 26 and 29er on climbs.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

I have only ridden a 29er once… but I’d say for anyone starting out should go with a 26er. The bigger wheels on the 29er will roll over smaller obstacles smoothly, but starting on a 26er will help you learn to tackle obstacles. With the smaller wheel you can get going faster quicker… so if you get stuck in a technical area you may have difficulty getting back up and rolling on your 29er – then once rolling the 29er will eat up the trail smoother than the 26er… so it’s a trade off. I think the 26er will give you a better feel for the trail and riding in general… then graduating to a 29er after getting your technique down. As for climbing, that’s more on your technique (picking a line) and your legs/lungs… no bike is going to get up the hill or over that log or through the rock garden without you. Just my thoughts… anyone out there start out riding a 29er?

Gunners,
      26 vs 29er…not to sound off, but your height may preclude you from a 29er.
      I’d suggest you get a proper fit, but in my understanding the 29er geometry play out at 5’8 on up.
      I ride both, a 26 Blur LT2 and a 29 Orbea Alma World Cup hard tail.
      They both have their pros and cons, and if your starting out, I’d suggest a hard tail to make you a good rider and develop your skill.