NEW MEMBER AND NEW RIDER!!

Forums Mountain Bike Forum NEW MEMBER AND NEW RIDER!!

--
SHARES

Tagged: ,

• Author

Hi there boys and girls.I’m new to MTN biking I started over the summer. For two reason one to get back in shape from my high school sport playing days, and to spend time with my brother.

It took me 4 months to find a bike, the day I sat on the Rockhopper I was sold. I went with the 08 one because the frame was made out of M4, which made this bike super light. I have since put some money into, new handle bars new wheel set( long story why)

I raced in my first race this year out at Addison Oaks, which is my favorite trail to ride on. I got fourth in that race.I should have had 3rd some one came in before me that never passed me on the trail. 😠

I am planing on racing more next year and I hope to get picked up on a team very soon.

I love downhills and many of the riders I ride with, who are much faster then me say that I am one of the fastest people they ride with when it comes to going downhill. I have good speed on the flats and get to top speed very fast, but just can’t keep it going for more 5 mins (working on that )They tell me once I get faster at climbing I could be a real handful to race against.

Welcome to Singletracks!

I see you’re from Michigan as well…. are you over at MMBA.org too?

I wouldn’t worry too much about not hitting the podium on your first race, fourth is very respectable! I’d be happy personally to place 25th out of a field of 100 riders! And that you did so on a basically OEM Rockhopper is cool too, since it’s not exactly a race bike. 😎
    If you want to maintain your speed, work on your interval training…. and then go Mr. Big-Ring, and ditch the granny-gear entirely. 😉

The granny gear is pretty much gone.lol
    Manly on two and on those feel good days number 3. 😃

Yeah I am on that site two same name.