New Bike Brake Rub

Tagged: ,

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author

I know this has been on here before but I’m still striking out. I am new to discs and the set up is driving me crazy. I got a new bike and it came equipped with Elixer 7’s (not my choice but it’s what came on from factory). The rear was rubbing out of the box. I loosened the caliper bolts and I can’t find an adjustment where it doesn’t rub. I took the pads off and attempted to push the caliper’s in with a tire lever. I didn’t notice any movement. The only lever I have is a Pedro’s Milk Lever which is very wide and doesn’t allow much wiggle room in there. I then pressed with a narrow screw driver. Do you have to put a lot of force on it to push it in?

Since the bike/ brakes are new would a few miles on the bike wear down the pad enough to eliminate the rub without premature wear on the pads and rotor or is this asking for trouble? I’d like to try to remedy this before I ride and prefer not to get charged $50 for an easy fix at a shop if can help it. Any further suggestions.

First, make sure your rotor is centered. If it is and you have compressed your pistons back in and it rubs again, check to see if your pistons are coming out evenly. If not, clean the pistons and lube them with the fluid used in your system- very careful not to let it get on anything else. Clean with rubbing alcohol. If this does not work, send it into sram. They make crappy brakes, but they are an excellent company that backs up their products. Plan B, buy Shimano brakes and be happy.