New Avid MTBer Looking for Wisdom

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author

Hey everyone! I am brand new to mountain biking (1 month) and have a few questions for everyone. I was originally purchasing a bike simply to get to and from campus, but I love adrenaline-fueled activities, and thought I’d go 2 for 1 and get into mountain biking as well! I love the traveling aspect coupled with building up your body for scenic adventures. Knowing nothing about bikes, I started with a $520ish Giant Revel mtb at my lbs. I really enjoy it, but can tell I’ll upgrade when possible. I’m sure bike quality is noticeable as the price hikes up there. I must ride fairly hard, because I’ve had to learn how to tweak my bike after days on a trail already. I can tell tlc is important. Alright, here’s where I need your brutally honest insight:

When I upgrade in the future, I think I’d like a downhill bike, simply because those trails look amazingly fun. I think downhill is great and I love how hardy the bikes are constructed. But are these bikes decent all around bikes as well? If I needed to ride it 2 miles XC across town, would it be terrible or ok? Obviously not as good as a bike made for distance, but could it do the job ok? Only asking because I may not always be around dh trails. Also, how do freeride and technical bikes differ? And finally, how far do you think I can push my Giant Revel? If I came across a DH track or anything with jumps/rocks/technical, could I take it on it?