Need your help!

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author

I’m going to purchase a new bike today (August 8, 2016), but I’m stuck between two bikes.

The first bike is the Giant Anthem 27.5 2 ($2000 on sale) and the second bike is the Trek Fuel EX 5 27.5 Plus ($2400).  Right now I have a Trek 4 Series.

I’m just beginning to do off road mountain biking.  I think I’m becoming more of a downhill/enduro person with the parts of the tracks I’m enjoying most.  I’m not sure if the wider tires on the Trek would be a good or bad thing for the tight turns.

Which bike would you suggest and why?

I’d go for the Trek because that bike will also allow you to run 29″ wheels. With the Giant you can only run 27.5, no option to run plus. Personally, I prefer regular width tires to plus, but it is nice to have the option.

The Trek also has a bit more suspension than the Giant which will make it more capable on the descents.

The guy I was talking to about the giant questioned the changeable tire size.  He said that it probably means it’s made to be a 29er, it just allows you to put on 27.5 tires.  He said he assumes it would be less comfortable.

There was a rubber ring around the shocks.  He told me to ride it hard on the track a few times and then bring it back in.  They could then adjust the air pressure to make it better for my riding style.  Would that compromise for more suspension?  Would it make the ride stiffer?

By the way, the guy said he went to school for working with bikes.  I don’t know how much that really means for credibility.

Sounds like the guy selling the Giant may be biased…