My "new" K2 frame found on craigslist

Tagged: 

Viewing 24 reply threads
  • Author

I’ve been hunting for a frame I sold back in 2003 since I started riding again last year.On my once a week or so trip through the ads on craigslist I happened across this EVO 3 frame and while I’m not crazy about the color,it IS my frame I’ve been hunting!

For $150 it came with the XT cranks,Race Face Rings and BB,WTB Grease Guard headset and I believe an LX front derailleur that he forgot to toss in the bag.

I happened to have the correct size seat post laying around already,and my fork steerer tube on the Blackcomb should JUST fit the headtube on this new frame since it is a size bigger.I have to machine a rear disc brake mount for it and I doubt I can re-use all my cable housings off the other bike so I’ll have to run new cables as well but I picture it being rideable next weekend!!

Sweetness man, when you get it all together and ride-able, post another pic will ya? I’d like to see how that turns out for you. At a buck fifty that’s pretty dang good I’d say, especially for CL, I always find junk that is way over priced!! An example would be a 2002 Specialized Stumpjumper for $500, with stock components. Anyway congrats on the find.

I’ll get pics up when it’s put together for sure,hopefully this weekend if all goes well.That $500 Stumpjumper is probably not going anywhere anytime soon at that price,haha.

I got the frame all cleaned up,swapped out seat post clamps and removed the V-brakes.I see why he had the V-brakes though…there is a replaceable disc brake mount that bolts to the rear swing arm and it is missing.I’m gonna email K2 and see if they have any left.

looks like its going to be a sweet ride and a nice step up from your current rig.

and as a fellow cl scavenger, congrats on the craigslist score.

when i get up to gainesville you’re going to have to take me by that DJ spot!

Oh hell yeah bro,we’ll go shred the DJ’s and another spot if you want!